Weekly Intelligence · NETSPIRES
Market review: September 28–October 4, 2026
Oil Spot Prices Ease Early in the Week, but Resin Cost Signals Remain Mixed
News cutoff: October 4, 2026, 18:00 America/Chicago. Research completed after the cutoff during a delayed review; later events are excluded.
Price coverage: physical crude spot through September 29; a separately identified Brent futures comparison through October 1; North American PE commentary published September 30 and European October monomer contract reports published September 30–October 1.
Early-week physical crude prices fell, but that did not establish a matching reduction in resin costs. North American PE reporting and European monomer contracts point to a more complicated purchasing picture, with important gaps in publicly verified PP and regional resin prices.
1. Market Snapshot
- EIA physical spot observations fell between September 28 and 29: Europe Brent FOB declined to $113.96 per barrel and Cushing WTI FOB to $96.16. These are Tuesday observations, not Friday closes or full-week returns. [1–2]
- OPIS's September 30 public preview reported average North American PE prices stable to higher. It did not establish a uniform increase across grades or final domestic contract settlements. [5]
- Our analysis: oil relief alone is insufficient evidence for a U.S. resin-price reduction. Feedstock, resin availability, export demand and the buyer's actual commercial terms still need separate checks.
Current-week U.S. PE/PP production, utilization and resin-inventory figures were not verified in this review. Last week's inventory narrative is therefore not carried forward as a new observation.
2. Global Market Conditions
| Region | Verified evidence and period | Relevance to U.S. buyers |
|---|---|---|
| North America | OPIS reported stable-to-higher average PE prices, September 30; public preview only. [5] | An export-market signal, not proof of a change in every domestic contract. |
| China / Asia | Comparable current-period PE/PP prices not verified. CCF announced a reporting pause October 1–7. [8] | Reduced reporting must not be interpreted as unchanged prices or absent trading. |
| Europe | October ethylene and propylene contract benchmarks increased, according to public PIE previews. [6–7] | Feedstock pressure could support supplier requests; realized resin increases remain unverified. |
| Middle East | Current-period PE/PP transaction prices and production volumes not independently verified. | Avoid assigning a regional resin premium from conflict headlines alone. |
The evidence does not establish a single global resin-price direction. Compared with our previous issue, this review adds new North American PE reporting and October European feedstock benchmarks; it does not claim that the earlier Chinese price trend continued without fresh comparable evidence.
3. Price Changes
Physical crude spot prices — U.S. dollars per barrel, FOB; EIA release September 30. [1–2]
| Physical benchmark | September 28 | September 29 | Calculated change |
|---|---|---|---|
| Europe Brent spot | $119.97 | $113.96 | −$6.01; −5.01% |
| Cushing, Oklahoma WTI spot | $99.37 | $96.16 | −$3.21; −3.23% |
This is a one-day, partial-week comparison. Later current-week cells were unpopulated in the retrieved tables; no Friday physical spot price or full-week return is asserted.
Crude oil futures settlements — a separate price basis, U.S. dollars per barrel. [3–4]
| Futures contract | September 30 settlement | October 1 settlement | Same-contract calculated change |
|---|---|---|---|
| Brent, December 2026 | $98.03 | $102.31 | +$4.28; +4.37% |
These figures come from PFL's market reports, not a directly retrieved exchange settlement record. PFL identified November Brent expiry on September 30; switching between November and December can distort comparisons. December is the contract month, not the observation date or a forecast of eventual spot prices. Fully specified Friday Brent and WTI contract evidence was not verified, so Friday quotations are omitted. Different spot and futures dates also prevent a simultaneous spread comparison.
Resin price evidence — no comparable weekly percentage change is available.
| Resin / market | Current evidence | Price basis and limitation |
|---|---|---|
| North American PE; grades not specified in preview | Stable to higher, OPIS September 30. [5] | Publisher's qualitative price report; no grade-specific transaction, magnitude or domestic contract settlement verified. |
| U.S. PP | Current-period price and final September settlement not verified. | Missing evidence does not mean unchanged prices. |
| Asian and European PE/PP | Comparable current-period resin prices not verified. | No regional resin spread or imported-price advantage calculated. |
Separate feedstock note: PIE's public previews reported European October ethylene contracts at €1,555/t and propylene at €1,490/t, both higher. The accessible previews did not disclose the increase amounts. These are monomer contracts, not PE/PP resin prices or U.S. polymer-grade propylene settlements. [6–7]
4. International Developments to Watch
| Development | Confirmed status | Potential price channel | Next checkpoint |
|---|---|---|---|
| U.S. strategic reserve exchange solicitation, September 29 | DOE offered up to 40 million barrels under existing release commitments; deliveries scheduled for November–December. [9] | If awarded and delivered, additional physical supply could ease crude/feedstock pressure. This is an analytical possibility, not observed resin relief. | Bids due October 6 at 11:00 Central; then awards and deliveries. |
| China's holiday reporting interruption | CCF's September 20 notice suspends reports/assessments October 1–7. [8] | Less timely evidence can obscure changes in demand and export competition. | CCF reporting resumes October 8. |
Fresh military developments and route restrictions were not independently confirmed to a sufficient standard for this issue. No new blockade, reopening or geopolitical resin surcharge is asserted. Watch documented changes in physical deliveries and plant availability before translating international tensions into a resin-price conclusion.
5. What This Means for U.S. Resin Prices
PE: older EIA structural research explains ethane-based ethylene production and the alternative naphtha route. That distinction helps explain why a crude-price move need not pass through one-for-one to U.S. PE. This is background economics, not a measurement of this week's production costs. [10]
PP: Europe's higher propylene contract is relevant regional context, but cannot replace the applicable U.S. propylene benchmark or a buyer's PP contract formula. Request evidence separating monomer adjustment from conversion margin and other charges.
Landed cost: the September 30 EIA report, covering the week ended September 25, showed crude stocks rising 0.9 million barrels while distillate stocks fell 2.3 million. This lagged, mixed picture does not establish across-the-board fuel relief. Keep transport charges separate from base resin in quote comparisons. [11]
6. Outlook: The Next 1–4 Weeks
These are editorial scenarios, not numerical forecasts or confirmed outcomes.
| Scenario | Conditions required | Possible U.S. resin implication |
|---|---|---|
| Working view | Mixed cost signals persist; comparable resin evidence remains incomplete. | No defensible broad PE/PP direction; assess individual grades and accepted quotes. |
| Upward-price risk | Verified feedstock pressure combines with tighter available resin or stronger export demand. | Greater support for supplier increases; actual settlements must confirm it. |
| Downward-price risk | Crude relief persists and resin supply improves or demand weakens. | More negotiating room may emerge; require comparable delivered quotes before assuming savings. |
7. Next Week's Watchlist
- DOE's October 6 bid deadline and subsequent delivery evidence: distinguish promised supply from physical arrivals. [9]
- New EIA physical spot observations and inventory releases: check whether early-week relief persisted and whether product stocks recovered. [1–2,11]
- CCF reporting after October 8: reassess Asian prices using fresh grades and terms, not holiday silence. [8]
- U.S. PE/PP settlement evidence and supplier quotes: record grade, date, quantity, delivery basis and whether each change was proposed or accepted.
Sources
- EIA — Europe Brent spot FOB daily history; September 30 release
- EIA — Cushing WTI spot FOB daily history; September 30 release
- PFL — Petroleum Daily Report, September 30, 2026; futures contract rollover
- PFL — Petroleum Daily Report, October 1, 2026; December Brent futures
- OPIS — Chemicals news archive; September 30 North American PE public preview
- PIE — October ethylene contract; published September 30, public preview
- PIE — October propylene contract; published October 1, public preview
- CCFGroup — National Day holiday reporting notice, September 20; earlier announcement
- U.S. DOE — Strategic reserve release commitments, September 29
- EIA — Ethane and petrochemical production, April 6, 2022; structural background
- EIA — Weekly Petroleum Status Report summary; September 30 release, observations through September 25
Scope and limitations
Public previews are cited only for visible content; paid tables were not accessed. Dynamic source pages can update after this review. Changes in the crude tables are our calculations from matching benchmarks/contracts. Unverified resin prices, incomplete marketplace references and post-cutoff live offers are excluded. No modeled resin price or numerical oil-to-resin pass-through is presented.